• select language
  • zoom in zoom out
    back

    Weltkulturerbe Hallstatt

    share
    share
    font + font -

    Dr. Friedrich Morton

    Botanist and explorer

    Leave the Catholic Church and cemetery now via the Romanesque entrance on the mountain side. From here you can take Kirchenweg to Oberer Markt. Here is the start of Dr.-Friedrich-Morton-Weg, Highlight 6 of our Hallstatt walk.

    Friedrich Morton is one of the most famous citizens of Hallstatt, despite his not being born here. In 1921 he takes over the post of state administrator of the Dachstein caves at the age of 31.

    Morton is a botanist with a thirst for exploring. He travels to many parts of Europe and Africa and publishes over 600 essays and reports in the course of his long life. And these are no dry, scientific treatises, rather lively accounts that add to the fame the Hallstatt region enjoys.

    In 1925 he takes over the direction of Hallstatt museum. And the botanist becomes a passionate palaeontologist. He soon realises that there must be more prehistoric material in the burial ground on the salt mountain than previous excavations reveal. He is right, his excavations not only proving that the burial ground is much larger than suspected, but bringing a nearly 2,000-year old mining tunnel to light.

    Friedrich Morton lives in and for Hallstatt. At the same time he considers any change to its traditional appearance an abomination. When the potential widening of Seestraße (or lake road) is being discussed in the 1950s it is Morton in particular who takes a stand - successfully - against the project. Today’s solution, a bypass, means Hallstatt has kept its historic form. Dr. Friedrich Morton dies in Hallstatt in 1969.

    Enjoy now the 4 points of interest from Highlight 6. We recommend the bench in front of the house at Dr.-Friedrich-Morton-Weg 162. This is one of our relaxation spots listed in Highlight 10. From this bench you will have a good view of the points of interest from Highlight 6.

• select language
  • zoom in zoom out
    back

    Weltkulturerbe Hallstatt

    share
    share
    font + font -

    Dr. Friedrich Morton

    Botaniker und Forscher

    Verlassen Sie nun die katholische Kirche und den Friedhof durch den romanischen Durchgang an der Bergseite. Von hier gelangen Sie über den Kirchenweg hinunter zum Oberen Markt. Am Oberen Markt beginnt der Dr.-Friedrich-Morton-Weg, Highlight 6 unseres Spaziergangs durch Hallstatt.

    Friedrich Morton ist einer der berühmtesten Bürger des Ortes Hallstatt, obwohl er nicht hier geboren ist. 1921 übernimmt er den Posten des staatlichen Verwalters der Dachsteinhöhlen. Da ist er bereits 31 Jahre alt.

    Morton ist Botaniker und besitzt enormen Forscherdrang. Er bereist weite Teile Europas und Afrikas und publiziert im Laufe seines langen Lebens über 600 Aufsätze und Berichte. Und Morton schreibt keine trockenen, wissenschaftlichen Abhandlungen, sondern verhilft der Region um Hallstatt durch seine lebhaften Schilderungen zu noch größerer Bekanntheit.

    1925 übernimmt er die Leitung des Museums Hallstatt. Und aus dem Botaniker Morton wird ein leidenschaftlicher Paläontologe. Bald erkennt er, dass im Gräberfeld auf dem Salzberg mehr prähistorisches Material liegen muss, als bisher ausgegraben wurde. Und er behält recht: nicht nur kann er durch Grabungen nachweisen, dass das Gräberfeld weit größer ist als angenommen, er fördert auch einen fast 2000 Jahre alten, gut erhaltenen Bergwerksstollen zutage.

    Friedrich Morton lebt in und für Hallstatt. Gleichzeitig ist ihm jede Veränderung des traditionellen Ortsbildes ein Gräuel. Als in den 1950er Jahren eine Verbreiterung der Seestraße heftig diskutiert wird, ist es besonders Morton, der sich gegen das Projekt engagiert. Mit Erfolg: durch die heutige Lösung der Umfahrungsstraße bleibt Hallstatt in seiner historischen Form erhalten. Dr. Friedrich Morton stirbt 1969 in Hallstatt.

    Genießen Sie nun die 3 Details zu Highlight 6. Wir empfehlen dazu die Bank vor dem Haus Dr.-Friedrich-Morton-Weg 162. Das ist einer unserer Relax-Places, die wir in Highlight 10 zusammengefasst haben. Von dieser Bank aus haben Sie einen guten Blick auf die Details von Highlight 6.